The Next Big Thing for S.G. Rogers

My fellow author Meg Mims (Double Crossing, Santa Paws) tapped me for the Next Big Thing interview making the rounds in the blogosphere.  She sent me the following questions, which I’ve answered. Now it’s time to share:

1) What is the working title of your next book?

Duke of a Gilded Age

2) Where did the idea come from?

I’ve always been fascinated by the differences between American society and British society when it comes to things like royalty.  This story follows a young American man to Britain after he inherits a Dukedom from an uncle.dreamstime_xs_22540575

3) What genre does your work fall under?

Historical Romance, specifically Victorian Romance.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie version?

Liam Hemsworth could play the part of the young duke Wesley Parker…but then again, what part couldn’t he play?

isabel

Someone who looks like Isabel Lucas

could play Belle Oakhurst.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis to explain where the story begins?

After the Tenth Duke of Mansbury dies, the title passes to the next male in the line of succession—an American teen born in Brooklyn.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m undecided on that.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

It’s still under development.  I imagine it will take me another month to finish the first draft.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

LLF

That’s hard to say.  Little Lord Fauntleroy, by Frances Hodgson Burnett, has a slightly similar theme, but that classic novel is not a romance.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

In my fantasy stories, I often feature characters that learn something unexpected about their heritage. I thought it would be fun to do that in a historical romance.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s set in 1890, and features historical details about New York, transatlantic steamship travel, and England.  As I write, I’m learning so much about New York City that I never knew before. And because of my research into the “floating palaces” of the era, I’m also now determined to take a cruise to Europe!

Thanks, Meg, for the opportunity to discuss my next big thing.

~ S.G. Rogers

8 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing for S.G. Rogers”

  1. Why you keep shoving exciting sounding books into my face?! -do want!- I am loving The Ice Captain’s Daughter still! You’re writing is really good. Cannot wait to see more by you! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

