Before Happily Ever After

Author June Kramin, writing as Ann T. Bugg, is releasing the second in her Before Happily Ever After series on February 22nd. She’s my guest today on Child of Yden to talk about the series. It sounds absolutely wonderful for kids of all ages…especially me! ~ S.G. RogersThanks for having me, Suzanne!

My middle grade fantasy series, Before Happily Ever After, was recently accepted with WAMM publishing. The first book, Through the Mirror and Into Snow, was released in November 2011.

Here’s the blurb:

When best friends Valerie and Samantha discover a magic mirror in Val’s 100-year-old barn in southern Minnesota, they eagerly go through it. Immediately they run into the young Snow White, who has just escaped the huntsman. The girls vow to help her find her father, knowing the dangers that await. On their journey, the fun-loving double-trouble duo quickly discover they are caught up in the middle of their favorite fairy tales.

Having the knowledge of the stories as their only weapon, Val and Sam help two other princesses, make a surprising friend and discover they have a fairy godmother of their very own.

Book Two: Into The Forest and Down The Tower

My inspiration for the series were the two main characters in the flesh! They are the real Sam & Larrie, my daughter, Valerie, & her best friend, Samantha. Although I play it up a little big in the books, my daughter and I are both fans of fairy tales and love anything re-told. When I really had a possum scare me in the barn, that was the inspiration that started me writing the series. I could really imagine the duo of double-trouble actually sneaking out to find it. It seemed natural that what happened from there took this direction. I can’t count how many times my daughter and I have watched the mini-series “The 10th Kingdom” together. I love a twist on characters and imagining another way stories could go. We are currently watching “Once Upon a Time” on ABC and loving it.

I don’t remember being into fairy tales as much when I was younger as I am now that I’m an adult (notice I didn’t say grown up). I was the one that took each of my daughter’s “likes” when she was little and turned them into my obsession. Yes, I still sing along with little mermaid’s “Part of Your World” and “I Won’t Say I’m in Love” from Hercules, to name just a few. Every birthday when she was young cost a fortune as I had to get every piece of the Barbie collections from Rapunzel to the Wizard of Oz to complete the themes. It was harder on me when she grew out of them and I still have a few pieces saved for myself from most sets.

We all have to lose ourselves in something every now and then. I love losing myself in two best friends, that could not be any more different, finding their way to a magical kingdom and helping the characters they have read about. From my daughter’s burps to Samantha’s fashion sense, I think these books will touch something in people of all ages. However, I am afraid that their little rhyme exchanges will take over the planet like wildfire once they are exposed beyond our little circle and parents everywhere will want to beat me.

I live to write these books. Capturing their little quirks and making these stories around my love of all that is “Happily Ever After” has been the most fun I have had. (And let me tell you, I had some fun in my 20’s 😉

The books are geared for the middle grade (8-12) but they have been enjoyed from 5-85. I think there is just something about fairy tales that touches us all.

The website for my middle grade series is: http://www.beforehappilyeverafter.com/ There are buy links there for my publisher WAMM and Amazon. I use the pen name Ann T. Bugg (after my nickname Auntybug) so younger kids don’t pick up my women’s fiction and say, “Hey! I know her!” and find themselves in for more than they bargained for! The website & blog for those novels is: http://www.junekramin.com/

I have fan pages under both June Kramin & Ann T Bugg at Facebook and Twitter under junekramin

Thanks again for having me!

2 thoughts on “Before Happily Ever After”

Leave a Reply

