You’re Nothing But A Sister!

Sibling relationships can run the gamut from best friends to worst enemies.  When a brother and sister stick together, however, their bond has a universal appeal—particularly when faced with fantastic circumstances.  In The Last Great Wizard of Yden, 16-year-old Jon and his little sister Sela, 11, have their rough moments. But when the chili hits the cheese, they are there for one another.

Excerpt:

Jon crammed a handful of hot, crispy, seasoned fries into his mouth. Sela took a pull on her chocolate malt, dejected.

“I can’t believe Mom is still going to sell the house,” she moped. “Dad’s not coming back, is he?” The last part was more of a statement than a question.

“He is if I can help it,” Jon replied, licking his fingers.

Sela gave him a sharp look. “Do you know something I don’t?”

“Not yet, but I think it’s all tied in with Ophelia.”

“Ophelia?”

“My ring.”

“Your ring’s got a name?”

“Never mind,” Jon said. “Mom knows about Yden, I’m certain of it.”

“So you believe me?”

“I do now. Look, Sela, Mom is trying to protect me by taking Ophelia away. I don’t know how much longer I can put her off. I need time to contact Dad’s foster parents. They might have some information that would help me.”

“Help you do what?” she asked.

“Figure out how to get to Yden.”

Sela gasped. “What if you can’t get home, Jon? What if you get stuck there, like Dad?”

“I overheard Mom tell Chaz that Dad has returned from Yden before,” Jon said. “When I find Dad and bring him back with me, it’ll be worth the risk. You have to get Mom out of the house this afternoon.”

“Okay, I’ll tell her I need to go shopping.”

“That’ll work.”

Sela grabbed Jon’s wrist. “Don’t go to Yden without telling me.”

“I won’t,” Jon promised.

Of course, that’s what Dad promised Mom, and look how that worked out, he thought.

You see, Jon has witnessed the kidnapping of his father under extraordinary circumstances and no one but his precocious sister seems to believe him.  Sela helps Jon in his quest to learn the truth, thereby revealing the love these two kids have for one another. As an author, it’s been really rewarding to discover how interested readers are in Jon’s little sister. They are hoping for more of her story in the sequels.  I believe it’s because we’d all like to have someone in our corner, no matter what.  As Berlioz sputters in The AristoCats, “You’re nothing but a sister!” In The Last Great Wizard of Yden, however, that’s a very good thing.

~  S.G. Rogers

After his father is kidnapped, sixteen-year-old Jon stumbles across a closely guarded family secret–one that will challenge everything he has ever believed about his father and himself. A magical ring his father leaves behind unlocks a portal to another dimension, but in using it, Jon unwittingly unchains the forces of evil. A crisis develops when a malevolent wizard transports to Earth to kidnap Jon’s would-be girlfriend. With the help of some unlikely schoolmates, and a warrior princess from Yden, Jon embarks on a dangerous quest to free his friend and his father from the most vicious wizard the magical world has ever known. In the end, Jon will be forced to fight for his life as he attempts to rescue the last great wizard of Yden.

$2.99 e-book at Astraea Press, Amazon, or BN.com.

Piggyback ride: © Molly Williams | Dreamstime.com

Leave a Reply

