The Creation of a Character – Author Lindsay Downs

I’m so pleased to welcome author Lindsay Downs to the pages of Child of Yden.  She’s a writer with a very unique voice and a very big heart.  100% of the proceeds of her novel, Emily Dahill CID, Part One (dedicated to the brave women and men in the US Armed Forces) is donated to victims of the Japanese tsunami.  Thank you, Lindsay, for being my guest. – S.G. Rogers

****

The Creation of a Character

Or

How Did Emily Dahill, CID Come to Be

How do you come up with your main characters? A question authors are asked all the time.

When I came up with the idea/concept of doing a series of books, featuring a special agent with the U.S. Army Criminal Investigation Command, more commonly referred to as CID, I knew what I didn’t want.

A special agent who was: arrogant, egotistical, self-centered, had a fault, but wouldn’t let others know it, coffee swilling (fine Emily does drink coffee, but she’s not walking around all the time with a cup). I also didn’t want someone, when wrong, who wouldn’t apologize. Or make someone else they a job they could.

I also didn’t want someone who let the others, working in the team, harass, debase, demean, or pick on fellow members.

I also didn’t want a leader who thought they were so special they could just take over the investigation at the most critical moment thereby winning the day.

Or the sexiest person alive.

That left the question-What did I want from my main character?

Actually, I decided not on one, but two main characters.

Since I write strong female characters, actually that’s the only kind I do, that was a no-brainer. A woman. So I came up with Emily Dahill. The last name, Dahill, was a very minor character in Target Identified, currently off the market and in major rewrites. And Emily, I just picked out of thin air.

The other main character was also easy to decide on. Since I’d enjoyed writing Kebi, a collie, into Target Identified, I knew a collie was the logical choice. Read Final Mission in Emily Dahill, CID Part 1 to find out what I mean and also how they met.

I wanted Emily to be determined, driven, but more so, self-assured. Confident, so to speak, in her own skin. If someone got in her way, she’d tell them to move, walk right over, or through them. A leader who also listened to those around her, even if that individual is a collie.

She has to look out for the people who work with, not for, her. If they make a mistake, she corrects, through teaching, them without raising her voice. That was something she’d learned from her father. And when she’s wrong promptly admits it to the person, not storm out leaving the wronged party in limbo.

All work and no play make Emily a dull girl. To that end I have stories, and even scenes where she kicks back, and relaxes. For a laugh read Right Place, Wrong Day, and Dog on Fishing.

In short, between work and play, I am trying to create a real person. One that you, my readers, will and can relate to. Not someone so full of themselves, and their self-persevered importance that they aren’t real.

As far as any romantic interests in her life, personal, not professional, I haven’t decided how I will address that particular question. To begin with, anyone she might get involved with will have to have Dakota’s lick of approval.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, she does have one individual out to destroy her. This person, only known as ‘the brown-haired man’, will periodically pop up in stories, but at the last moment, will escape, frustrating her to no end.

All the stories I’ve mentioned here, except for Target Identified, a romantic thriller, are in my current release, Emily Dahill, CID Part 1, where you will get a little insight into what makes her tick.

LINKS FOR EMILY DAHILL, CID PART 1

To request an autograph on your kindle (Linday’s author page)

http://kindlegraph.com/authors/ldowns2966

Buy links for Emily Dahill, CID Part 1-

Astraea Press, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Bookstrand

You can follow Lindsay at:

Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, LinkedIn

 

7 thoughts on “The Creation of a Character – Author Lindsay Downs”

  1. Nice post, Lindsay! I enjoy Emily’s adventures, and it’s obvious you put lots of thought into her character before you started writing. I’ve already got my copy, so someone else can enjoy reading about her too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

